Something Doesn’t Feel Right

73345599So, I was being a little over ambitious at the beginning of the year and decided to take on a challenge every month. And when I say a challenge, I mean things I would actually find difficult because a) I’ve never done them before, and b) I’ve been avoiding them like the plague.

I’m sure you can guess where this is going. Obviously mission impossible failed. I thought if I shared my master plan with the world that I would be held accountable due to guilt and potential public humiliation. Turns out I’m ok with compromising my dignity on the internet.

Why do things fail? Why do our plans fall apart? How can we be so excited and enthusiastic one day, and completely uninterested and unproductive the next?

I’m not too concerned about the fact that I didn’t follow through with my plans. What I’m more interested in is understanding why I didn’t follow through. After some introspection, I came to the following conclusion:

Things fail due to misalignment.

I don’t have the time or energy to learn something new every month, nor do I want to, because I’d rather spend 12 whole months becoming really good at one thing than being decent at 12 things. Not just that, but I like an element of spontaneity in my life and planning a major undertaking once a month (even if it was silent meditation) was too structured and stressful for my personality.

And so there you have it, it’s that simple. Things fail because what we’re trying to do externally doesn’t match up internally.

