On Making Decisions

Making decisions is importa80488390nt, just as, if not more important than having brilliant ideas. During one of those ‘I don’t know what to do with my life’ conversations with a close friend some time ago, he boldly stated, “making any decision, even the wrong one, is better than making no decision at all.”

And what does that really mean? It means that when you choose to make a decision, whether small or big, significant or insignificant, you are no longer floating in mid-air; you are (maybe slowly) but surely heading in a direction. Direction is what can give you purpose and meaning, it can open up doors, grasp opportunities, inspire and influence.

When you are stuck in the mindset of indecision, everything becomes complicated, even choosing a domain name or a color for your logo can become an obstacle. But by making these small decisions you are actually projecting yourself forward and moving along on your journey. Believe me when I say not being able to choose between A or B can be incredibly frustrating and stressful, two things no one should have to consistently deal with, especially those of us who are trying to start our own business ventures.

Being indecisive has caused many a problem in my life, both in my personal life and my career. But being indecisive is just another bad habit, nothing that can’t be improved or overcome.

So I made the decision to start making decisions! Sometimes I make good ones, sometimes I make ones I wish I hadn’t made (this happens a lot), but I finally feel like I’m in control of my life. I encourage you to start looking at all the options set before you and make decisions that could alter your life and inspire others to follow in your steps. 


-ns

